James Riely Gordon collection

Pages That Need Review

Texas State Association of Architects Minutes and Proceedings

16
Needs Review

16

Ex. Committee

Report of the Secretary received and approved -

Report of Treas. read and approved, as [?] of finances and finally as a [?] -

The names of delinquents on fees are by motion {cont IV V?], suspended as fellows, J. E. Flanders, W. H. Tyndall, Geo E. Dickey, A. N. Dawson, S. B. Haggert. Sec'y [sustained?] to notify of delinquent of their suspension and also [intimated?] to notify Mr. Flanders is [?] by operation of [?] and that by action of Ex. Comm. he [?] reinstated [?] payment of [dues?]

Sec'y authorized to notify [?] A. B. Bristol and [?] that their appreciation is not in proper order and shape because [endowments?] are not by members in good standing

On motion Sec'y authorized to [?] the Pres the [?] list of membership -

Afternoon Session

The Ex. Comm. appoint a sub-comm. of [?] J. Larmour, Heiner and Wahrenberger [?] duty it shall be to look after the interest of the Bill regulating [the?] practice of architecture and have some properly introduced in the legislature.

Last edit over 2 years ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
17
Needs Review

17

Proceedings of the Second Annual Convention of the Texas State Association of Architects, held at Austin, Jan 18th 1887

Convention called to order by J. J. Kane, President at 10:30 A.M. with 14 members present.

On motion, the minutes of the last convention were [?] with.

The report of the Executive Board of Trustees was called for and by request were allowed from the time to report.

Adjoined to [?]

Afternoon Session

Convention called to order, Pres. Kane in the chair

The report of the Board of Trustees was read and approved as follows:

Finances

Each [need?] from all sources $170 00 " paid [amt] by Sec'y $70.95 " " " [?] Ex Comm 14.50 85.45 Bal. on hand $84.55 In Treas. hands $80.50 " Secy's " $80.50 (Roll of members in good standing) (page 2) Association [shows?] a charter Seal [electrotypes?] Booke stationery [?]

An act regulating the practice of architecture in the state of Texas was also read and approved.'

//left margin// Actions of Ex. Comm. at Bosque Co. (see page 2 printed proceedings)

Last edit over 2 years ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
18
Needs Review

18

Mr. Preston moved that 1000 copies be ordered printed.

Mr. W. W. Larmour substituted by insisting 500 copies.

Both the original notion and the substitute were withdrawn, and the Ex. Committee were authorized to have printed 1000 copies of the bill.

On motion, the convention adjourned to 10:30 Wednesday A.M.

Wednesday 10:30 A.M.

Meeting called to order by the President. Mr Tobey, in behalf of Capital Contractors, extended an invitation to the Association to visit the granite quarries at Burnet.

Mr. Heiner moved that the invitation be accepted: Mr. Dodson moved an amendment that the thanks of the Assocition be extended Mr. Wilke for his courtest, but that the invitation be declined - which was adopted.

On motion, the convention adjourned to 2:30 P.M.

Afternoon Session

Meeting called to order by the PRes.

It was moved by Mr. [?] that the President appoint two committees, of 3 members each, to nominate affairs for the ensuing year, and also [its?] place for holding the next convention. Carried.

Last edit over 2 years ago by cpmorgan
19
Needs Review

19

Committee [?] - [?] J. and W.W. Larmour, and N. Tobey. [?] - [?] Dodson, Heiner and Clayton.

A recess was taken to allow the committees to report.

Convention. No. 1 reported:

For President - J. J. Kane - Fort Worth " 1st Vice " J. W. Preston, Austin " 2nd " " Nathaniel Tobey, Galveston " Secretary S. A. J. Preston, Austin " Treasurer W. W., Larmour, Waco

Board of Trustees

E. J. Heiner - Houston, chairman W. C. Dodson - Waco J. Wahrenberger San Antonio John Andrewartha - Austin

Place of next meeting - Houston

Committee No. 1 reported:

For President - J. J. Kane - Fort Worth " 1st Vice " J. W. Preston, Austin " 2nd " " Nathaniel Tobey, Galveston " Secretary S. A. J. Preston, Austin " Treasurer W. W., Larmour, Waco

Board of Trustees

W. C. Dodson, Waco - chairman E. J. Heiner - Houston N. J. Clayton - Galveston J. Wahrenberger. San Antonio J. Larmour. Austin.

On motion of Mr. Preston, the secretary was instructed to cast one ballot for the first five officers in report [?] and the officers were declared elected.

The secretary was also instructed to cast one ballot for each of the

Last edit over 2 years ago by cpmorgan
20
Needs Review

20

five candidates for Board of Trustees nominated in the report no. 2.

Mr. Heiner moved to ballot for each member of [?] and placed Mr. Andrewartha in [nomination?] and [?] Dodson, Heiner, Clayton, Wahrenberger and LArmour were duly elected.

Mr. Andrewarther [re'd?] 2 votes " Larmour " 8 Seattering 1

The election was made unanimous.

On motion, it was decided that the next convention be held at Houston.

On motion of Mr. Nixon and seconded by Mr. Heiner, the Pres. appointed a commitee of 3 to revise the constitutions and by-laws; and report at next annual meeting. [?] Nixon, Clayton and Heiner were appointed [?] committee. By request, Mr. Clayton was excused from acting on the committee, and Mr. S. P. Herbert of Waco was appointed in his place.

Mr. Wahrenberger presented the follow communication from the Texas Society of Engineers:

"At a meeting of the Texas Society of Engineers held Jan 4 1887, the following motion was made by the President, Mr. C. P. Mattack, and endorsed by the members present -

Recognizing the fact that it is desirable to secure by legislation, protection in the practice of Architects Engineering and kindred

Last edit over 2 years ago by cpmorgan
21
Needs Review

21

profession, [be?] it

Resolved by the Texas Society of Engineers, that [we?] stand ready to endorse any measures that may be taken with such an object in view, and to give our aassistance in every way practically -"

Signed S. Haviland Secy of T. S. of As

Moved by Mr. Heiner that the communication be read and ordered spread on the minutes and that the Sec'y be instructed to extend to the T. S. of As. the thanks of our Association.

Carried.

On motion the secretary was ordered to have printed 500 copies of the proceedings of the convention, the roll of membership and schedule of changes.

Moved by Mr. Wahrenberger that $50.00 or so much thereof as may be necessary be appropriated to pay for printing the Proceedings. [?] and also for printing the 1000 copies of bill regulating the practice of Architecture, the balance of any, to be applied for incidental expenses of the Association.

Carried.

The following report was need from the Executive Committee, and on motion of Mr. Tobey, was adopted and ordered expressed on the minutes: -

Last edit over 2 years ago by cpmorgan
22
Needs Review

22

Mr. J.J. Kane Pres. T.S.A.A.

Your Executive Committe report the following following resolution adopted by [them?]: -

This committee has read information of a charge of unprofssional practice on the part of Alfred Giles, therefore be it

Resolved. That Mr. Giles [be?] [?] he is hereby suspended as a fellow of this Association until after his vindication of the charges now [resting?] against him in connection with the building of the El Paso Court House

W.C. Dodson

Chairman Ex Committee

The following resolution introduced by Mr. [?] was endorsed and ordered [?] on the minutes:

Resolved. That is [be?] required of every fellow of this [?] to report to the Executive Committee any deviation from the schedule of charges at this [?] by any member thereof -

On motions, a vote of [?] was tendered Mr [?] for the use of the parlors of "The [Driscoll?]" and alas to the [?] College for the use of their rooms.

On motion of Mr. Dodson, the Convention adjourned [?].

Last edit over 2 years ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
25
Needs Review

25

Proceedings of the

Third Annual Convention

of the

Texas State Association of Architects

held at

Houston. January 17th + 18th 1888

Tuesday, January 17th

The Convention was called to order by President J. J. Kane of Fort Worth at 3:06 P.M.

The Secretary S.A.J. Preston being absent in California, the President appointed W.W. Larmour of Waco secretary [pro term?].

The President then delivered his annual address as follows:

The Address.

Gentlemen of the Texas State Association of Architects.

Before proceeding with the regular order or business that will come before our Association today, I desire to address a few words to you as members and representations of The Texas State Association of Architects.

First permit me to thank you, each and every one for your exceeding kindness to me personally,

Last edit 5 months ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
30
Needs Review

30

training, practice or experience to acquire a knowledge of the profession to fit them for the practice of architecture, nor ought we, under any circumstances, ever admit, knowingly, those whose professional practice in the past has been unprofessional or a dishonorable character. By all just and honorable means keep up the standard of true respectability for our association. Do not hesitate to refuse admission to such as would bring reproach or evil repute or cast a shadow on our association. Better a few in numbers and maintain your reputation and the standing of the Texas Association of Architects. Show to the world that our association is composed of gentlemen who are honorable alike in their personal character and in their professional practice. I sincerely hope that the records of our proceedings and official acts will be securely kept and preserved, to be handed down to our successors, for the time will come at no distant day, when such proceedings will be closely scanned by those who will come after our time has passed.

Last edit over 2 years ago by cpmorgan
31
Needs Review

31

They will desire to know something of the new who formed the Association of Architects in Texas. Let us leave then an honorable reputation of our actor record. Let those who read our record in after years know that we of the present day had a proper regard and were fully impressed with the honors and true dignity of our profession; and when in after years wealth and population has dotted our sunny slopes and broad plains with beautiful and populous cities, let the architect of those times as he turns over the page of our record of today, let him see that we did all that was possible for the true dignity of our profession in our time as just on honorable men, men who will know architecture, like other art, did not spring into life and existance with all its beauty - with man creation; it was a child of slow growth. No traces remain of the steps by which the beautiful temples of Egypt, nor the grand, magnificent halls of Persia and Assyria were devoted from this rude beginnings. The earliest known structures of those countries belonging to an age considerably advanced in

Last edit over 2 years ago by cpmorgan
Displaying Page 71 - 80 of 188 in total