James Riely Gordon collection

Pages That Need Review

AIA Southern Chapter Proceedings

12
Needs Review

12

THE SOUTHERN CHAPTER, A. I. A. 9

OFFICERS, 1892.

A. C. BRUCE, Atlanta, Ga. L. F. GOODRICH, Vice-President, Augusta, Ga. W. P. TINSLEY, Sec'y and Treas., Lynchburg, Va.

DIRECTORS. D. B. WOODRUFF, Macon, Ga. P. E. DENNIS, Macon, Ga. T. H. MORGAN, Atlanta, Ga. A. McC. NIXON, Atlanta, Ga. D. A. HELMICH, Birmingham, Ala.

CHARTER MEMBERS:

Blair, Alexander, .... Macon Bruce, A. C. ........... Atlanta Burke, C. C. .......... Memphis Clayton, N.J. ......... Galveston Cook, Jas. B. ......... Memphis Cotter, W. T. ......... Jacksonville Dennis, P. E. ........ Macon Dimmock, M. J. ... Richmond Downing, W. T. .... Atlanta Duval, S. R. .......... New Orleans Eichberg, A. S. ..... Savannah Favrot, Chas. A. ... New Orleans Goodrich, L. F. .... Augusta Goodrich, W. W. .. Atlanta Helmich, D. A. .... Birmingham Hutchenson, J. F. .... Mobile Lind, E. G. ............. Atlanta Lindsey, J. M. P. ...... Atlanta

Longstreet, J. G., ..... Gainesville Maddox, T. H., ..... Birmingham Maddox, Jas. M..... Birmingham Morgan, T. H. ....... Atlanta Niernsee, Frank .... Columbia Nixon, A. McC. ..... Atlanta Norrman, G. L. ...... Atlanta Rousseau, F. L. ..... Birmingham Ruehrmund, Carl .... Richmond Smith, W.S. .... Birmingham Sully, Thos. ..... New Orleans Thompson, H. C. .... Nashville Toledano, Albert .... New Orleans Tinsley, W. P. ..... Lynchburg Wheelock, Chas .... Birmingham Wheelock, H. B. .... Birmingham Woodruff, D. B. ..... Macon

Last edit over 1 year ago by cpmorgan
14
Needs Review

14

PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

SECOND ANNUAL CONVENTION OF THE

Southern Chapter of the American Institute of Architects,

HELD AT

BIRMINGHAM, ALA., JAN. 10th, 1893.

The Second Annual Convention of the Southern Chapter of the American Institute of Architects was called to order January 10, 1893, at 12 o'clock M., in the parlors of the Caldwell Hotel, Birmingham, Ala., by Mr. A. C. Bruce, of Atlanta, Ga., President.

On behalf of the architects of Birmingham, an address of welcome was made by Mr. Chas. Wheelock, and also by Mr. Fox, Mayor of Birmingham, and was responded to by the President and Vice-President.

A recess was then taken.

2.30 P. M. On reassembling the roll was called and the following Fellows were in attendance upon the Convention, viz.: A. C. Bruce, Atlanta, Ga.; D. B. Woodruff, Macon, Ga.; W. S. Smith, Birmingham, Ala.; T. H. Maddox, Birmingham, Ala.; D. A. Helmich, Birmingham, Ala.; Chas. Wheelock, Birmingham, Ala.; L. F. Goodrich, Augusta, Ga.; C. C. Burke, Memphis, Tenn.; E. G. Lind, Atlanta, Ga.; Jas. M. Maddox, Birmingham, Ala.; W. P. Tinsley, Lynchburg,.Va.: F. L. Rousseau, Birmingham, Ala.

The President, Mr. A. C. Bruce, of Atlanta, delivered the following address:

Officers, Members and Friends of the Southern Chapter:

It is with pleasure I meet you at this our second annual convention, and in laying down the office to which your partiality elevated me a year ago, it seems proper that I should briefly describe what we have endeav-

Last edit over 1 year ago by cpmorgan
15
Needs Review

15

12 THE SOUTHERN CHAPTER, A. I. A.

ored to do the past year, and also to bring before you such suggestions as have occurred to me for the perfecting of our organization. The work thus far has been mainly initiative, placing the objects of the Chapter before the architects of the South, securing a charter, and in general correspondence to awaken an interest amongthose we hoped and felt would join with us in attaining our end. Our worthy Secretary has been very efficient in discharging his duties by correspondence and keeping before the profession in the columns of our organ, "The Southern Architect," the need of organization, and several times during the past year I have addressed the members and others, impressing upon them the importance of unity of action in this the commencement of our organization. This large and intelligent body of representative men of the several states before me to-day is but the advance guard of what we hope our annual conventions will be in the future. May the best interest of each and all, and of the profession in general, be promoted by our assembly in this hospitable city of Birmingham.

As yet we are but young in the development of our profession in the South and have had but limited means to encourage its progress as a profession, yet I hope that the younger members will devote all their spare time to the study and development of architecture, from a theoretical as well as a technical standpoint, and endeavor to give a freer scope to its artistic influences, than the older members had in their meager opportunities of study.

I can remember thirty years ago, when quite a young man, I asked an English master-workman how I could become an architect. He replied, "Work in the day and learn the practical; study at night and learn the theoretical; study the works of Nicholson, Pugin, Ruskin, Jones," and uf others he named. We had not then the benefits of the superior photographs, nor the later photo-engraving work, nor the still later beautiful and artistic photogravures to assist us, butrelied wholly on the engraved work in the foreign journals, for as yet architectural publications in this country were very rare, the only ones I could get being "Downing's Country Homes," and later, about 1857 or 1858, I believe, the publications of Samuel Sloan, of Philadelphia, which found a ready sale in the Southern States, and really from his studies sprung those elegant Southern mansions still seen throughout the States, emblems of an era of refinement slowly passing away. But what do we now see opening to the student of architecture? In every state technical schools with architectural studies as a part of the curriculum; architectural photographs giving a tour through the Land of Flowers and Art; all the principal cities of England, France and Italy photographed, so that with a few hours of study he can explore the scenes of months of travel, which formerly only the wealthy and the professor could enjoy.

And not only in the old countries but in our great America the march of architectural progress has kept pace with the spirit of the times. And even in this country, it was one of our Southern brethren, Richard-

Last edit almost 2 years ago by cpmorgan
16
Needs Review

16

THE SOUTHERN CHAPTER, A. I. A. 13

son, that, like Michael Angelo of old, had greatness thrust upon him which he did not expect, and perchance it came so thick and fast he had to give up the ghost and leave an unfinished style for the ambitious young men to work out, not on the conditions of Angelo at St. Peter's, that no salary should be inserted in the agreement, but on the contrary the siren ery of the Angelo of to-day is, "What about the commission?"

Yet it is a very important fact in this day and generation to keep up the standard of proper remuneration for services rendered. How necestary it is then that as a profession we should possess the requirements of ability and business tact necessary in the administration of our business, that we may be able to give our clients value received for the small compensation we ask, and in the great revival which we see in the works of the rising generation of young architects, the success of those who have earned a reputation, has been the result of close study, actuated by artistic aspirations worthily won among the closest competitions.

As a profession architecture can boast variety in its labors; great scope is given the imagination and artistic mind as it is unfolded in the studies of design and the theory of construction, the latter being the great object of the means intended, yet not losing the artistic treatment which should always be studied, and after the ideal is formulated on the board, then the masterpiece on which depends the successful carrying out of the work is the specification -- defined by one writer as "a written statement of particulars for a certain proposed structure," to formulate which the architect should first have a perfectly practical knowledge of the profession. This is considered one of the most difficult branches of the profession, a duty which cannot be delegated to the draughtsman or any other employee. How often does an experienced practical builder smile to himself at manyof the absurd volumes of specifications exhibited to him to tender on, or execute work from, and which is often the cause of the great difference in bids. It should be simple in language and expressed in a clear, concise way.

As a body we have a great work to accomplish in the development of Southern architecture. Our climate demands entirely different planning, and there is a large scope of country to be worked, our prosperous cities, thriving towns and growing hamlets, all add to its various wants and studies. We have not yet reached the high building craze of our Western brethren; we have plenty of room to spread out on, and plenty of fresh air, and our genial climate demands that we plan for comfort and make room for the occupants without stint or cost.

Let us then, in this our second. annual convention, endeavor to assist each other in discharging the trust in our hands, in every good word and work, as brethren engaged in a profession, as a labor of love as well as for the money benefits we derive, and when we meet on the bloodless field of competition, either in Alabama, Florida, Texas or Georgia, or in the Lookout Valleys of Tennessee, may we not forget the interests of all as a whole, and act as if we were destitute of honorable sentiments, and not worthy of association. Let us then co-operate with our Eastern and

Last edit almost 2 years ago by cpmorgan
17
Needs Review

17

14 THE SOUTHERN CHAPTER, A. I. A.

Western brethren in the profession and reap the benefits to be derived from a united interest in our chosen profession.

I will close by quoting a sentence taken from the Journal of Architecture, of Philadelphia, which expresses fully the object of our assembly to-day; "Architects as a fraternity should, by their intermingling and interchange of ideas, by their unremitted and unanimous action, and, if possible, in a broad and all-embracing organization, working from within by and upon its membership, attempt to render the methods and practice of architecture more uniform, raise the average standard of design, and by making all true criteria of architectural merit more generally known and more universally adopted, pave the only highway to the popularity of true architecture which seems at present to be open."

The President: 'The next thing in order is the report of the Board of Directors.

The Secretary : As sec'y of the Board of Directors I wish to state that but one meeting of the Board of Directors was held in 1892, which occurred at Atlanta, Ga., Sept. 1st. At this meeting the letter ballot, similar to that used by the A. I. A. was adopted. The Board of Directors also instructed the Secretary to have a Certificate of Membership engraved with such conditions shown in its face as render it void after the following annual meeting, a copy of which, properly filled out, to be given to each Fellow, upon the full payment of all dues for the current year. A copy of this certificate is herewith submitted for your consideration. It was further ordered that Fellows of the A. I. A. requesting membership in this Chapter be excused from furnishing photographs or other drawings as evidence of their professional ability, but in other respects the application blank to be filled out by each applicant and endorsed in the usual way.

The Board of Directors held a meeting this morning prior to the assembling of this Convention, and after considering the applications filed in proper form with the Secretary, they recommend for membership the following named architects, viz.: W. E. Hall, Winston, N. C.; Tom Wood, Sherman, Tex.; C. H. Read, Jr.., Richmond, Va.; G. W. E. Field, Richmond, Va.; J. G. Barnwell, Rome, Ga.; C. C. Wilson, Roanoke, Va.; J. W. McClain, Birmingham, Ala.; E. W. Smith, Lexington, Ky.; Geo. W. Stewart, Dallas, Texas ; Harry D. Breeding, Huntsville, Ala.; P. S. Rabbit, Galveston, Tex.; J. A. Tempest, Houston, Tex.; W. A. Bird, Bir-

Last edit almost 2 years ago by cpmorgan
18
Needs Review

18

THE SOUTHERN CHAPTER, A. I. A. I5

mingham, Ala.; Wm. Stanton, Vicksburg, Miss.; W. Chamberlin, Knoxville, Tenn.; T. H. Abrahams, Charleston, S.C.; B. B. Davis, Paducah, Ky.; H. H. Huggins, Roanoke, Va.; F. L. Smith, Lexington, Ky.; Geo. E. Dickey, Houston, Tex.; J. Riely Gordon, San Antonia, Tex.; Henry C. Holland, Houston, Tex.; C. W. Bulger, Galveston, Tex.; W. T. Walker, Montgomery, Ala.

On motion of Mr. Helmich the report of the Directors was adopted and ordered to be spread upon the Minutes of the meeting.

On motion of Mr. Goodrich the letter ballot was suspended and the above named architects were unanimously elected Fellows of this Chapter.

On motion of Mr. Wheelock the Chair appointed a committee (consisting of Mr. Lind and Mr. C. Wheelock) to notify the applicants present of their election.

The President: The next thing in order will be the report of the Committee on Charter.

The Secretary : As a member of this committee I beg to report that the Charter has been obtained from the American Institute of Architects, and is here for examination by the members present.

On motion of Mr. Goodrich the report of the committee was accepted and the committee discharged.

The President: The next thing in order will be the report of Committee on Seal.

The Secretary : As a member of this committee I beg to state that the design of the seal was chosen by your committee from a number of designs submitted, and the seal was engraved and furnished by the American Seal Works.

On motion of Mr. Goodrich the report of the committee was adopted and the committee discharged.

The President: Mr. Wheelock; Chairman of Local Committee of Reception, wishes to make a statement regarding the presence of members of the Legislature of Alabama, who are now in the city.

Mr. Wheelock: I wish to state that I have had a conference with several members of the Legislature regarding the anticipated bills to be presented to the Legislatures of the

Last edit over 1 year ago by cpmorgan
19
Needs Review

19

16 THE SOUTHERN CHAPTER, A. I. A.

Southern States in regard to laws controlling the practice of architecture, and it is necessary that we now appoint a time to give these gentlemen a hearing, and I move that three o'clock to-morrow evening be set as the time for this conference.

Which motion was unanimously carried.

At this point Mr. Bassett read an address from Mr. Hubner, editor of ''The Southern Architect," who was unavoidably prevented from attending:

GREETING OF THE SOUTHERN ARCHITECT.

To the Members of the Southern Chapter of the American Institute of Architects in Annual Session al Birmingham, Alabama:

GENTLEMEN: No profession is more thoroughly identified with the material progress of this section of our country, or more instrumental in developing a taste for the beautiful in Art, than the men who honor the profession of Architecture. No part of our great Republic has cause to be prouder of its representative architects than the South. Along with the wonderful progress of the Southern States since the war, in material prosperity and industrial growth, wealth and power, there has been apparent an encouraging development of the art-taste among our people in its architectural side. This finds expression in numerous grand public buildings and handsome private residences; and this practical art-taste has been promoted and fostered by educated and experienced architects in our midst, whose wholesome influences and whose respect for the classic models of their art, have largely contributed in suppressing the vulgar and bizarre, and in bringing about among our people the good taste increasingly expressing itself to-day in the architectural appearance of our towns and cities, in public edifices and private residences, as well as in the tasteful homes of our suburban and rural districts.

In view of these facts it is certainly a gratifying spectacle to see, gathered in this renowned and prosperous city, a body of men who are co-workers in this grand work, who worthily represent their noble profession, and to whose labor, zeal, fidelity and culture, the remarkable development of the art-taste of the New South, already alluded to, is largely due.

The organization of the Southern Chapter of the American Institute of Architects was a happy thought of those who conceived it, and the results thereof have proved the wisdom of their conception, and its practical value to the profession in the South. All honor is due to the founders and promoters of this Chapter, and they will be held in grateful remembrance as long as the beneficial influences of this organization shall exist.

Beginning with a few zealous members, and under many disadvan-

Last edit over 1 year ago by cpmorgan
20
Needs Review

20

THE SOUTHERN CHAPTER, A. I A. 17

tages, the Chapter has grown and strengthened and expanded its sphere of usefulness. Nor will it cease its wholesome growth until its sphere shall embrace this entire section, and in its membership shall be found the name of every reputable architect in the South. Its objects and purposes are well-known to all. The measures to be discussed and the actions to be enforced are all intended to conserve the best interests of the profession, and of the public; to elevate the profession to the high plane it is entitled to and to keep it there, and to engender and promote the fraternity and harmorty so necessary to every organization, and whose effects are so well expressed in the old adage, "in union there is strength."

Proud of its position as the officialorgan and literary representative of this Chapter, "The Southern Architect" will leave nothing undone that would foster and advance the objects and purposes of this body. Its management feels the responsibility of its position, but also its opportunities for good works in a noble cause. Its constant aim shall be to do its duty, and to promote whatsoever is true and good and beautiful. To do this to the best advantage, the good-will and practical cooperation of every present and prospective member of the Chapter is necessary. Surely we will not be mistaken iu the hope that this goodwill and practical co-operation will be given us now, and in still larger and increasing measure as time goes on.

As your organ and representative in literature, we greet you, and heartily wish all the members of the Chapter, and the profession everywhere, health, prosperity and success during the new year!

The President : 'The next thing in order will be the appointment of a committee to examine the Treasurer's books, and I appoint Messrs. Lind and James M. Maddox on that committee, and request that they make their report to-morrow morning.

The President: The next thing in order will be the appointment of the usual Nominating committees, and I will appoint Messrs. Helmich, Woodruff and Wood as one of these committees, and Mess. C. Wheelock, Smith and Burke as the other committee, with the request that they report at the afternoon session to-morrow.

At the suggestion of Mr. Goodrich, Mr. Bassett, representing ''The Southern Architect," made explanation of engravings to be published, and recommended that pen and ink Perspectives, of any sizes, should be submitted from which to have the cuts made, and that they were usually reduced to 6 x 9 inches in size.

After a discussion participated in by quite a number of the

Last edit over 1 year ago by cpmorgan
21
Needs Review

21

18 THE SOUTHERN CHAPTER, A.I.A.

architects regarding the position that ''The Southern Architect" sustains to this Chapter, the members were earnestly requested to contribute to its columns and illustrations.

A discussion by several of the members brought out the fact that the By-Laws do not state specificaliy what should be considered as unprofessional conduct, and that preferring charges against a member for making drawings at a reduced price could be construed as a matter of opinion, and therefore further, as a matter of persecution: and that said By-Laws cannot be changed or amended except by publishing the fact at least thirty days before voting upon such a change; and in consideration of the desirability to have specific regulations regarding this and other points that were mentioned; upon motion of Mr. L. F. Goodrich a committee of three was appointed to revise the Constitution and By-Laws, and at as early date as possible, to have the Secretary send a copy of same to each Fellow (at least thirty days before our next annual meeting) and to give full notice that the same will be changed at that meeting. Which motion was unanimously carried, and the Chair appointed Messrs. Morgan, Lind and H. Wheelock, on said Committee.

On motion of Mr. D. A. Helmich the Conventmn adjourned till ten o'clock to-morrow morning.

SECOND DAY--MORNING SESSION.

The President: Before proceeding with the business before the Convention I wish to state that the hospitality of Berry Bros. has been tendered the architects present and that carriages will be in waiting when this meeting adjourns for dinner for a drive about the city.

On the motion of Mr. Lind it was determined that we will adjourn at 12.30 to accept the invitation so kindly tendered by Messrs. Berry Bros.

The President: Mr. Lind has a paper to read before this Convention on the "Relation of the Architectural Profession to the Public;" he will now read that paper.

RELATION OF THE ARCHITECTURAT PROFESSION TO THE PUBLIC.

Mr. President and Gentlemen:

When in the course of human events it becomes necessary for societies to hold annual conventions, it seems equally necessary that some-

Last edit over 1 year ago by cpmorgan
22
Needs Review

22

THE SOUTHERN CHAPTER, A. I. A. 19

body should have something to say on such occasions. In accordance with this ancient usage, our esteemed President has deputed me to address you on the relation of the architectural profession to the public, and I will do my best to acquit myself of the honor thus conferred upon me.

Past experience teaches that the fewer and shorter the addresses made on such gatherings, the more they are appreciated, and as this is the first annual meeting of the Southern Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, and I want to be appreciated, my paper shall be brief and to the point.

An experience of over thirty years as a practising architectentitles me perhaps to lay claim to being the oldest architectin this Chapter, Commencing business in 1858, I have, (with the exception of the usual weeks devoted to vacations, etc.,) been hard at work ever since. My nose is still kept to the grindstone. Fortune is still smiling upon me, though at a safe and long distance, and yet I am not happy, though I don't complain, for really "my lines have fallen in pleasant places," many genuine pleasures have been vouchsafed me in the course of designing and erecting the large numberof builditigs committed to my charge, by which I think the world as well as your humble servant has been benefitted.

To me, the study and practice of architecture has been a genuine pleasure, and if it could only be divested of its sordid trade-like environments, I know of nothing more fascinating; but I must return to the business in hand--the relation of architects to the public. That is what we are here to consider.

A good deal depends upon who the public may be; whether Eastern, Western, Northern or Southern. I have had a little experience with both, especially the three others, but the Southern public comes out on top of everything, architect and all; and that is paying the Southern public a great complimentif it knows how to take it.

According to another ancient custom, I shall now divide my subject into three parts-head, body and tail ; with such subdivisionsas cireumstances may dictate and your patience will allow.

In doing this I would remind you of the story told of an old Scotch divine, who preaching from the text, "The Devil goeth about as a roaring lion," divided his subjectinto three heads, as follows:

1st. Who, the devil, is he? 2nd. Where, the devil, did he come from? 3rd. What, the devil, is he roaring about? So we will begin with-1st. Who, the Architect, is he?

Well, at present he is a man, though in the near future he will be a woman also, for quite a number of the so-called weaker sex are forging their way to the front (I, myself, have my eye on three at least); and, ere many moons have passed away, will be ready to take their place among the faculty, and why shouldn't they? Women have æsthetic

Last edit over 1 year ago by cpmorgan
Displaying Page 41 - 50 of 188 in total