Texas State Association of Architects

Pages That Need Review

Texas State Association of Architects Charter

txu-aaa-gortsaa002-1-3-2000
Needs Review

txu-aaa-gortsaa002-1-3-2000

THE STATE OF TEXAS)

TRAVIS COUNTY ) BEFORE ME THE UNDERSIGNED AUTHORITY, ON THIS DAY PERSONALLY APPEARED JOHN ANDREWARTHA, S. A. J. PRESTON AND J. N. PRESTON PERSONALLY KNOWN TO ME TO BE THE PERSONS WHOSE NAMES ARE SUBSCRIBED TO THE FOREGOING INSTRUMENT; AND ACKNOWLEDGED TO ME THAT THEY HAD SIGNED AND EXECUTED THE SAME FOR THE PURPOSES AND CONSIDERATIONS THERIN EXPRESSED.

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND AND OFFICIAL SEAL THIS THE 27TH DAY OF JANUARY 1886. (SIGNED) JAMES D. SHEEKS NOTARY PUBLIC (LS) TRAVIS COUNTY TEXAS

(ENDORSED) CHARTER TEXAS STATE ASSOCIATION OF ARCHITECTS. FILED IN THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE JANUARY 27TH A. D. 1886.

(SIGNED) J. W. BAINES SECRETARY OF STATE

Last edit about 1 month ago by Katie Pierce Meyer

Texas State Association of Architects Clippings

1
Needs Review

1

STATE ARCHITECTS.

Minutes of the Twelfth Annual Convention of the Association.

The State Association of Architects held their twelfth annual convention yesterday at the Oriental hotel.

The convention was called to order by President Gordon at 11 a.m. The minutes of the last convention were read and approved, followed by the president's address, after which many papers upon subjects of much interest to the profession were read.

The report of the executive committee was approved, and new members were elected subject to their passing an examination before the examining board, which will hereafter be appointed by the president.

[Drawing of J. Riley Gordon] J. RIELY GORDON, President, San Antonio. //right margin// Dallas News Oct 2 1901

J. Riley Gordon was elected president for the third time, Burt McDonald of Austin vice president, H. A. Overbeck of Dallas secretary, A. A. Meyer of Fort Worth treasurer.

The afternoon session was taken up principally by the discussion of new methods of construction, including several interesting lectures upon wiring, plumbing, foundations, etc.

Mr. George R. Mann of the St. Louis chapter of the American Institute of Architects was invited to address the convention. He chose as his subject "Heating and Ventilation." The address was technical, accompanied by many tests and experiments. He received a vote of thanks.

The convention will hereafter be held in Dallas during the fair, the exact date to be designated by the president.

A committee was appointed to formulate [a?] design to be engraved and used as a certificate of membership as well as for a new seal for the association.

The convention adjourned and had its annual dinner at the Oriental hotel.

Last edit 2 months ago by Katie Pierce Meyer

Texas State Association of Architects Correspondence

1
Needs Review

1

Old papers Root

56 Astor Street.

My dear sir,

My sister, Mrs. John Wellborn Root, desires to acknowledge with gratitude the beautifully engrossed address of condolences which she received recently from the Texas State Association of Architects. She thanks you personally for the letter which accompanied the memorial, and for your very kind expression of sympathy.

Sincerely yours,

Harriet Monroe

To Mr. George W. Stewart, President of the T.S.A.A.

Feburary 21st, 1891

Last edit about 1 year ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
2
Needs Review

2

Please Return as Soon as Practicable to the Office of JAMES RIELY GORDON, ARCHITE[stamp off edge of page] 7-15 Smith [?] Antonio, Texas, Where the [?] will [?] Drawer T.S.A.A. [?]

Last edit about 4 years ago by j.fleming
3
Needs Review

3

OFFICE OF GEO. E. DICKEY Architect

ARCHITECT FOR Capitol Hotel Grand Central Depot Shearn Memorial Church Sam Stern's Building J. Waldo's Residence J. W. Johnson's Residence J. C. Hutcheson's Residence Houston, Fort Bend County Court House Leon County Court House Liberty County Jail Opera House and Masonic Temple, Sherman Opera House, Brenham Giddings Memorial Church, Brenham Presbyterian Church, Brenham H. A. Landes' Residence, Galveston ALSO SUPERINTENDENT U. S. POSTOFFICE, HOUSTON.

Houston, Texas, Dec. 27th. 1890.

Mr. Geo. W.Stewart. Dallas. Tex.

My Dear Sir:-

Your letter of the 18th. inst.. at hand and noted. In reference to dues for 1889 I have to say. I hold a receipt from the Treasuer elect. Mr. Guy M. Tozier. given me at the last meeting. for $5.00. dues for 1889.

If nothing prevents I will be at the anual [annual] meeting in Fort Worth on Jan. 20th. 1891.

Yours Fraternally. Geo. E. Dickey Architect.

[?] [?] Dickey.

( Dictated.)

Last edit 7 months ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
4
Needs Review

4

The DRISKILL American Plan G.W. LITTLEFIELD, PROPRIETOR. J.A. HUGHSTON, MANAGER.

RATES $2.50 TO $5.00 PER DAY

[Building image] STATE HEADQUARTERS T.P.A. Stephens Litho. & Eng. Co. St. Louis.

AUSTIN, TEXAS, Sep't 5 1896

Texas State Association of Architects

Gentlemen :

I desire to become a member of your association. I submit this, my application to your Honorable body

Respectfully yours H. A. Overbeck

Recommended by Burt McDonald J.R.Gordon

Recommended by Executive Committee Burt McDonald, Member of Comm. JR Gordon Ex officio Chairman

Last edit 3 months ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
5
Needs Review

5

San Angelo. Dec/29/90.

Geo. W. Stewart Esq. Dallas Tex.

Dear Sir.

Yours of the 18th/ inst to hand. There certainly must be a mistake somewhere, as I think, if I remember correctly, all charter members paid, not only their dues but initiation dues as well,- as we needed money at that time.-

Write to Mr. Lar[?] in regard to same. as I think his books will show I paid

Last edit 12 months ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
6
Needs Review

6

my charter dues.

The balance for years 89/90 is correct.-

Please investigate the above and let me know.

It will be impossible for me to get to Fort Worth this year.

Yours Fraternally

O. Ruffini

I would like very much to meet with you all this year, and intended to do so, as I had missed the last few meetings.

I think the resignation of Mr. Dodson was wrong. also do I think, it was a matter to be investigated by our Executive Comm.

I mean the Ass. should not have accepted the resignation, without investigation, - as we could ill afford to loose[lose] so good a member. -

If I can manage to come, I shall certainly do so as another matter of about the same kind may come before the meeting.

Yours [?]

O. Ruffini

Last edit 7 months ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
7
Needs Review

7

Office of N. J. CLAYTON & CO. Architects, Corner Strand and 22d Street P. O. BOX 113 TELEPHONE 445

N. J. CLAYTON. P. S. RABITT.

Galveston, Texas Dec 30 1890

Geo. W. Stewart Esq Secy Ta of A Dallas

Dear [?]

Your communication of 18th inst informing of the Convention to be held in Ft Worth on Jan 20/91 is recd. You direct my attention to 2nd of 3rd clause pg 11 of last annual report. I [?] no copy of such report to ref to

I [?] that day in accordance with your request to [order?] of A. Ullrich Treas. Dallas $10 to cover initiation fee & dues for [90]-91

I shall use my best endeavours to arrange my business so as to be present at the Convention at Ft Worth on the date mentioned

Fraternally Yours

P. S. Rabitt

//blue pencil notation left of closing salutation// Treasurer

Last edit 3 months ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
8
Needs Review

8

Meeting called to order by V.P. J.R.G + address

1st Minutes read and approved

2d Reading Presidents ad -dispensed with

3d Rep ex. com. approved

4th Rep standing Com (none)

5th " spl " "

6th unfinished business "

7th New business - appointed Com to draft resolutions upon the death of V.P. Alfred Muller + Tom Wood Res by McDonald - Res by overbeck about certificates of membership Res by Gordon about liscensing [licensing] architects. ---..--- Com design for certificate of membership Payment of annual dues - Passed until the sense of the association is had upon resolution of McDonald - Election of officers : Moved by B. McD. sec by overbeck JRG. Passd unanimous -- B. McD V.P. unanimous F.S. Glover 2d V.P. - H.A. Overbeck. Sec'y A.A. Meyer Treas.

Ex Com J.R.G. ch B McD. F.S. Glover H.A. Overbeck. A.A. Meyer

Special Com. Res Death A. Muller. J.R.G. B. McD. + H.A O. Res Death Tom Wood same

Last edit about 2 months ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
Displaying pages 1 - 10 of 168 in total