James Riely Gordon collection

Pages That Need Review

Texas State Association of Architects Charter

txu-aaa-gortsaa002-1-1-2000
Needs Review

txu-aaa-gortsaa002-1-1-2000

//T.S.A.A. hand written on left top margin//

CHARTER //Architectural hand written// OF THE TEXAS ASSOCIATION OF ARCHITECTS. -:-

OBJECTS OF THE ASSOCIATION.

THE OBJECTS OF THIS ASSOCIATION; ARE TO UNITE IN ONE COMMON FELLOWSHIP, THE ARCHITECTS OF TEXAS; TO COMBINE THEIR EFFORTS, SO AS TO PROMOTE THE ARTISTIC, SCIENTIFIC, AND PRACTTICAL EFFICIENCY OF THE PROFESSION; AND TO CULTIVATE AND ENCOURAGE THE KINDRED ARTS; AND TO CORRECT UNPROFESSIONAL PRACTICES. ARTICLE I. THE NAME OF THIS ASSOCIATION SHALL BE "THE TEXAS STATE ASSOCIATION OF ARCHITECTS. ARTICLE II. THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE ASSOCIATION, SHALL CONSIST OF FEOWS AND HONORAY MEMBERS. ARTICLE III. THE OFFICERS OF THIS ASSOCIATION, SHALL BE, A PRESIDENT; TWO VICE PRESIDENTS; SECRETARY AND TREASURER; AND FIVE TRUSTEES; THE TRUSTEES SHALL CONSTITUTE THE EXECUTUVE COMMETTE AND THE PRESIDENT OF THE ASSOCIATION SHALL BE EX-OFFICE MEMBER OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE.

Last edit over 1 year ago by m.johnston
txu-aaa-gortsaa002-1-2-2000
Needs Review

txu-aaa-gortsaa002-1-2-2000

PRESIDENT; J. J. KANE FORT WORTH. 1ST. VICE PRE'DT J. N. PRESTON AUSTIN. 2ND. VICE PRES'DT NATHANIEL TOBEY GALVESTON. SECRETARY S. A. J. PRESTON AUSTIN. TREAS'R & ASST. SEC' YW.W. LAMOUR WACO.

EXECTIVE COMMITTEE. JOHN ANDREWARTHA AUSTIN. W. C. DODSON WACO. JAMES WAHREN

Last edit over 1 year ago by m.johnston
txu-aaa-gortsaa002-1-3-2000
Needs Review

txu-aaa-gortsaa002-1-3-2000

THE STATE OF TEXAS)

TRAVES COUNTY ) BEFORE ME THE UNDERSIGNED AUTHORITY, ON THIS DAY PERSONALLY APPEARED JOHN [ANDREWARTHA], S. A. J. PRESTON AND J. N. PRESTON PERSONALLY KNOWN TO ME TO BE THE PERSONS WHOSE NAMES ARE SUBSCRIBED TO THE FOREGOING INSTRUMENT; AND ACKNOWLEDGED TO ME THAT THEY HAD SIGNED AND EXECUTED THE SAME FOR THE PURPOSES AND CONSIDERATIONS THERIN EXPRESSED.

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND AND OFFICIAL SEAL THIS THE 27TH DAY OF JANUARY 1886. (SIGNED) JAMES D. SHEEKS NOTARY PUBLIC (LS) TRAVIS COUNTY TEXAS

(ENDORSED) CHARTER TEXAS STATE ASSOCIATION OF ARCHITECTS. FILED IN THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE JANUARY 27TH A. D. 1886.

(SIGNED) J. W. BAINES SECRETARY OF STATE

Last edit 7 months ago by cwhite
txu-aaa-gortsaa002-1-4-2000
Needs Review

txu-aaa-gortsaa002-1-4-2000

The States of Texas Department of State.

I, J. W. BAINES, Secretary of State of the State of Texas, do hereby certify, that the foregoing is a true copy of the ORIGINAL Charter of the "TEXAS STATE ASSOCIATION OF ARCHITECTS" with the endorsement thereon now on file in this Deparment

WITNESS my official signature, and the seal of State affixed, at the City of Austin, this 27th day of JANUARY A. D. 1886

J. W. Baines Secretary of State

Last edit 7 months ago by cwhite

Texas State Association of Architects Correspondence

1
Needs Review

1

Old papers Root

56 Astor Street.

My dear sir,

My sister, Mrs. John [?], desires to acknowledge with gratitude the beautifully engrossed address of condolences which she received recently from the Texas State Association of Architects. She thanks you personally for the letter which accompanied the memorial, and for your very kind expression of sympathy.

Sincerely yours,

Harriet [?]

To Mr. George W. Stewart, President of the T.S.A.A.

Feburary 21st, 1891

Last edit over 1 year ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
2
Needs Review

2

Please Return as Soon as Practicable to the Office of JAMES RIELY GORDON, ARCHITE[stamp off edge of page] 7-15 Smith [?] Antonio, Texas, Where the [?] will [?] Drawer T.S.A.A. [?]

Last edit over 1 year ago by j.fleming
3
Needs Review

3

OFFICE OF GEO. E. DICKEY Architect

ARCHITECT FOR Capitol Hotel Grand Central Depot Shearn Memorial Church Sam Stern's Building J. Waldo's Residence J. W. Johnson's Residence J. C. Hutcheson's Residence Houston, Fort Bend County Court House Leon County Court House Liberty County Jail Opera House and Masonic Temple, Sherman Opera House, Brenham Giddings Memorial Church, Brenham Presbyterian Church, Brenham H. A. Landes, Residence, Galveston ALSO SUPERINTENDENT U. S. POSTOFFICE, HOUSTON.

Houston, Texas, Dec. 27th. 1890.

Mr. Geo. W.Stewart. Dallas. Tex.

My Dear Sir:-

Your letter of the 18th. inst.. at hand and noted. In reference to dues for 1889 I have to say. I hold a receipt from the Treasuer elect. Mr. Guy M. Tozier. given me at the last meeting. for $5.00. dues for 1889.

If nothing prevents I will be at the anual [annual] meeting in Fort Worth on Jan. 20th. 1891.

Yours Fraternally. Geo. E. Dickey Architect.

[?] [?] Dickey.

( Dictated.)

Last edit over 1 year ago by j.fleming
4
Needs Review

4

The DRISKILL American Plan G.W. LITTLEFIELD, PROPRIETOR. J.A. HUGHSTON, MANAGER.

RATES $2.50 TO $5.00 PER DAY

[Building image] STATE HEADQUARTERS T.P.A.

AUSTIN, TEXAS, Sep't 5 1896

Texas State Association of Architects

Gentlemen :

I desire to become a member of your association. I submit this, my application to your [H?}onorable body

Respectfully yours H. A. [Over?]beck

Recommended by Burt McDonald J.R.Gordon

Recommended by Executive Committee Burt McDonald, Member of Comm. JR Gordon Ex officio Chairman

Last edit over 1 year ago by j.fleming
5
Needs Review

5

San Angelo. Dec/29/90.

Geo. W. Stewart Esq. Dallas Tex.

Dear Sir.

Yours of the 18th/ inst to hand. There certainly must be a mistake somewhere, as I think, if I remember correctly, all charter members paid, not only their dues but initiation dues as well,- as we needed money at that time.-

Write to Mr. Lar[?] in regard to same. as I think his books will show I paid

Last edit over 1 year ago by j.fleming
6
Needs Review

6

my charter dues.

The balance for years 89/90 is correct.-

Please investigate the above and let me know.

It will be impossible for me to get to Fort Worth this year.

Yours Fraternally

O. Ruffini

I would like very much to meet with you all this year, and intended to do so, as I had missed the last few meetings.

I think the resignation of Mr. Dodson was wrong. also do I think, it was a matter to be investigated by our Executive Comm.

I mean the Ass. should not have accepted the resignation, without investigation, - as we could ill afford to loose[lose] so good a member. -

If I can manage to come, I shall certainly do so as another matter of about the same kind may come before the meeting.

Yours [?]

O. Ruffini

Last edit over 1 year ago by j.fleming
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 190 in total