Texas State Association of Architects


Pages That Mention Sully, Thomas, 1855-1939

AIA Southern Chapter Proceedings

Needs Review


2 The Southern Chapter, A. I. A.

Letters of approbation and commendation were read from the following named architects, who for various reasons could not be present: C. C. Burke, and James B. Cook, of Memphis, Tenn.; Alexander Blair, of Macon, Ga.; L. G. DeLisle, Thomas Sully, Albert Toledano, Paul Andry and S. R. Duval, of New Orleans, La.; A. DeLisle of Chattanooga, Tenn.; M. J. Dimmock, and Carl Ruhermund, of Richmond, Va.; W. T. Cotter, of Jacksonville, Fla.; Frank Niernsee, of Columbia, S. C.; J. F. Hutcheson, of Mobile, Ala.; H. C. Thompson, of Nashville, Tenn.; T. H. Maddox, W.S. Smith, J. L. Rousseau, Harry Wheelock, and Charles Wheelock, of Birmingham, Ala.; J. F. Baumann, of Knoxville, Tenn.; L. E. Thornton, of Mayesville, Miss.; N. J. Clayton, of Galveston, Tex.; A. S. Eichberg, of Savannah, Ga.; and J. G. Longstreet, of Gainesville, Ga.

On motion of Mr. Lind the Chair appointed a committee of three (3) members on Constitution and By-Laws, for the purpose of organizing the Southern Chapter of the American Institute of Architects; and the following committee was appointed; Messrs. Lind, Helmich and Tinsley; and after due deliberation, the Committee made their report, and upon the motion of Mr. Bruce it was determined that the Constitution and By-Laws recommended, be read and adopted by sections.

The Constitution and By-Laws and the Schedule of Charges, etc., after having been read and fully discussed, and adopted by sections, were in each case adopted as a whole.

On motion of Mr. Lind, the meeting adjourned to eight (8) o'clock this P. M.

Night Session: According to adjournment, the meeting reassembled at eight o'clock this evening, with Mr. Woodruff in the chair, who stated that the first business for consideration was the election officers for the ensuing year, and upon the motion of Mr. Helmich, who placed the name of Mr. Bruce in nomination for the office of President, the Secretary was requested to cast the vote of this Chapter, which resulted in the election of Mr. A. C. Bruce as the President.

Upon the motion of Mr. Nixon, who placed the name of Mr. Goodrich in nomination for the office of Vice-President, the Secretary was requested to cast the vote of this Chapter,

Last edit about 2 months ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
Needs Review




A. C. BRUCE, Atlanta, Ga. L. F. GOODRICH, Vice-President, Augusta, Ga. W. P. TINSLEY, Sec'y and Treas., Lynchburg, Va.

DIRECTORS. D. B. WOODRUFF, Macon, Ga. P. E. DENNIS, Macon, Ga. T. H. MORGAN, Atlanta, Ga. A. McC. NIXON, Atlanta, Ga. D. A. HELMICH, Birmingham, Ala.


Blair, Alexander, .... Macon Bruce, A. C. ........... Atlanta Burke, C. C. .......... Memphis Clayton, N.J. ......... Galveston Cook, Jas. B. ......... Memphis Cotter, W. T. ......... Jacksonville Dennis, P. E. ........ Macon Dimmock, M. J. ... Richmond Downing, W. T. .... Atlanta Duval, S. R. .......... New Orleans Eichberg, A. S. ..... Savannah Favrot, Chas. A. ... New Orleans Goodrich, L. F. .... Augusta Goodrich, W. W. .. Atlanta Helmich, D. A. .... Birmingham Hutchenson, J. F. .... Mobile Lind, E. G. ............. Atlanta Lindsey, J. M. P. ...... Atlanta

Longstreet, J. G., ..... Gainesville Maddox, T. H., ..... Birmingham Maddox, Jas. M..... Birmingham Morgan, T. H. ....... Atlanta Niernsee, Frank .... Columbia Nixon, A. McC. ..... Atlanta Norrman, G. L. ...... Atlanta Rousseau, F. L. ..... Birmingham Ruehrmund, Carl .... Richmond Smith, W.S. .... Birmingham Sully, Thos. ..... New Orleans Thompson, H. C. .... Nashville Toledano, Albert .... New Orleans Tinsley, W. P. ..... Lynchburg Wheelock, Chas .... Birmingham Wheelock, H. B. .... Birmingham Woodruff, D. B. ..... Macon

Last edit about 2 months ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
Displaying all 2 pages