James Riely Gordon collection


Texas State Association of Architects Minutes and Proceedings



Austin Tex. Jan'y 19th 1886

Minutes of the proceedings of the Convention of Architects held at Austin Jan'y 19th 188

Meeting called to order by S A J Preston Committe on State Organization of (W.A.A) Western Association of Architects -

On motion of J N Preston [?] - W.W. Larmour was chosen temporary chairman and on motion of J. Andrewartha S A J Preston was chosen temporary secretary and Oscar Ruffini assistant-[sect'y?] -

The following by J N Preston was read and adopted - Resolved That it is the sense of this meeting that a state association of Architects lie now or [?] in this place

On motion letters were read from absent architects -

Moved by J Andrewartha that the chair appoint [a com?] or permanent organization caused the chair appointed the following Com. [Mep N. Tobey?], J.N. Preston, J. Andrewartha, W.C. Dodson, and J. J Kane -

Moved by A.M.C. Nixon that a recess be taken to all the Com. [?] - carried.

Meeting called to order and the [?] organization reported as follows. Mr. Chairman [your?] [?] on permanent organization have the honor to report as follows. For President J.J. Cain of Fort Worth. First Vice President J.N. Preston of Austin, Second Vice President Nathaniel Tobey of Galveston. Sect'y S A J Preston of Austin. Treasurer + Ass. Sect'y W.W. Lamour of Waco. Com. N. Tobey Chair J.J. Cain, W.C. Dodson, J N Preston, J Andrewartha, Sect'y

Last edit 9 months ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
Needs Review


Moved by J Andrewartha that the names recommended by the Com. be considered elected unanimously [named?]

J.J. Cain was escorted [to?] the cair by Mr. J N Preston, in a few [appropriate?] remarks he thanked the [?] for the honor [confessed?] -

An address of welcome was then by J. Andrewartha

Moved by J N Preston that a vote of thanks be [accolated?] to Mr. Andrewartha for his eloquent address which was carried.

Moved that the said address was to the published and embodied in the proceedings of the convention

Moved by W.W. Lamour that the chair appoint a [Com?] on membership, which was [?] - the chair appointed Mr. Andrew.

Moved by J.N. Preston that a [Com?] on constitution by-laws be appointed. Carried the chair appointed [?] Preston, Andrewartha + Dodson.

Moved that to procure a [Com?] charter be appointed carried. The chair appointed [?] J. Larmour, A M C Nixon, O. Ruffini and the secretary

Moved to adjourn until 3 pm caused

Last edit 9 months ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
Needs Review


The conv. also reported and recommended the before mentioned "Rules of Practice" which were adopted -

On motion of J. Andrewartha the sect'y was instructed and authorized to purchase one hundered copies of the Austin Daily Statesman containing each days proceedings and distribute marked copies [?] where they will be calculated to do the most good -

The following resolution was presented by Mr. J. N. Preston - Resolved that the following fellows shall constitute the members of the Executive Com. for the ensuing year. Mr. J. Andrewartha chair, Mr. W. C. Dodson - Waco; Mr. James Wahrenberger San Antonio, Mr. E. J. Heiner - Houston; Mr. J. E. Flanders, Dallas; -adopted-

On motion Mr. J Haggert of Forth Worth was added to the list of charter members

Convention adjourned until 9.30 pm

Last edit almost 3 years ago by Katie Pierce Meyer
Displaying all 3 Page