James Riely Gordon collection


Texas State Association of Architects Correspondence

Needs Review


Office of N. J. CLAYTON & CO. Architects, Corner Strand and 22d Street P. O. BOX 113 TELEPHONE 445


Galveston, Texas Dec 30 1890

Geo. W. Stewart Esq [?] [?] of A Dallas

Dear [?]

Your communication of 18th inst informing of the Convention to be held in Ft Worth on Jan 20/91 is recd. You direct my attention to 2 [?] 3rd clause pg 11 of last annual report. I [?] no copy of such report to ref to

I [?] that day in accordance with [your?] request to [order?] of A. Ullrich [?] Dallas $10 to [?] initiation fee & dues for [9?]-91

I shall use my best endeavours to [arrange?] my business so as to be present at the Convention at Ft Worth on the date mentioned

Fraternally Yours

[?] Ra[bitt?]

//blue pencil notation left of closing salutation// Treasurer

Last edit over 2 years ago by j.fleming

AIA Southern Chapter Proceedings

Needs Review


2 The Southern Chapter, A. I. A.

Letters of approbation and commendation were read from the following named architects, who for various reasons could not be present: C. C. Burke, and James B. Cook, of Memphis, Tenn.; Alexander Blair, of Macon, Ga.; L. G. DeLisle, Thomas Sully, Albert Toledano, Paul Andry and S. R. Duval, of New Orleans, La.; A. DeLisle of Chattanooga, Tenn.; M. J. Dimmock, and Carl Ruhermund, of Richmond, Va.; W. T. Cotter, of Jacksonville, Fla.; Frank Niernsee, of Columbia, S. C.; J. F. Hutcheson, of Mobile, Ala.; H. C. Thompson, of Nashville, Tenn.; T. H. Maddox, W.S. Smith, J. L. Rousseau, Harry Wheelock, and Charles Wheelock, of Birmingham, Ala.; J. F. Baumann, of Knoxville, Tenn.; L. E. Thornton, of Mayesville, Miss.; N. J. Clayton, of Galveston, Tex.; A. S. Eichberg, of Savannah, Ga.; and J. G. Longstreet, of Gainesville, Ga.

On motion of Mr. Lind the Chair appointed a committee of three (3) members on Constitution and By-Laws, for the purpose of organizing the Southern Chapter of the American Institute of Architects; and the following committee was appointed; Messrs. Lind, Helmich and Tinsley; and after due deliberation, the Committee made their report, and upon the motion of Mr. Bruce it was determined that the Constitution and By-Laws recommended, be read and adopted by sections.

The Constitution and By-Laws and the Schedule of Charges, etc., after having been read and fully discussed, and adopted by sections, were in each case adopted as a whole.

On motion of Mr. Lind, the meeting adjourned to eight (8) o'clock this P. M.

Night Session: According to adjournment, the meeting reassembled at eight o'clock this evening, with Mr. Woodruff in the chair, who stated that the first business for consideration was the election officers for the ensuing year, and upon the motion of Mr. Helmich, who placed the name of Mr. Bruce in nomination for the office of President, the Secretary was requested to cast the vote of this Chapter, which resulted in the election of Mr. A. C. Bruce as the President.

Upon the motion of Mr. Nixon, who placed the name of Mr. Goodrich in nomination for the office of Vice-President, the Secretary was requested to cast the vote of this Chapter,

Last edit almost 2 years ago by cpmorgan
Displaying all 2 Page